The Gates are Open to the EU

The Commonwealth of Dominica has been negotiating assiduously with the European Union and other non-EU members of the Schengen region since late 2014 to ensure that its people can travel visa-free to Europe. In May 28 2015, this strong negotiation culminated in an enforceable agreement.

Dominica already held the right to access the United Kingdom and Ireland on a visa waiver, and can now boast access to an additional 30 European countries.

At the core of the agreement is the right for Dominican citizens to travel to these 30 nations for a maximum of 90 days in any period of six months, for any legal purpose other than the carrying out of a paid activity. It is also important to note that the agreement only holds for European territories, and does not extend to the overseas territories held by nations such as France and the Netherlands. As a member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) however, Dominica already holds access to the European territories in the Caribbean.

Dominica has recently restructured its citizenship by investment programme, making it one of the most desirable and efficient programmes of its kind. Only a couple of days ago, it was renowned for being the most affordable option for single applicants. Today, it can add to its repertoire visa-free access to some of the most historically-rich and successful nations of the world.

READ MORE Friday May 29th, 2015